Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

osTicket v1.10 (stable) and Maintenance Release v1.9.15 are now available! Go get it now

Setting Up The Staff Hierarchy

Hi,

Apologies in advance for how basic this question may be, but I am very new to osTicket but was asked to install it for a client.

For some reason I am getting slightly confused with the staff setup features with the agents/teams/groups/departments etc

We are currently running on version 1.9.12

My client basically has a number of schools as their customers who can use the ticket system to report numerous problems for their specific school.

We then have a small number of staff members who are assigned to specific schools, so that they can see all the tickets created and updated each time a reply is sent

And then following from that we have 2 overall company managers who would like to access all the schools / tickets and have osTicket admin privileges 

So it looks like;
Overall Manager / osTicket admin > My clients Staff who have school specific (customers) rights to see all those ticket updates > Then their customers which are just the schools who can only see their own specific tickets that they create.

Could anyone point me in the right direction as to how I would create these 3 user groups so that they have those privileges?

Again I know this is probably very basic and straight forward but I just seem to be confusing myself with it.

As far as I can see, for the customers I would create them a standard 'user' account and then assign them to an 'organization' which would be their school name for example.

The big overall admin would be setup as agents who have 'admin access'

The bit that is then throwing me is my clients staff....how would I create their accounts, and have them so that I can then just assign them certain specific schools (organizations)?